Personal tools
You are here: Home Forum Use Re: C-grid around an airfoil, for viscous CFD analysis

Re: C-grid around an airfoil, for viscous CFD analysis

Up to Use

Posted by Luca Cirrottola at September 26. 2012

Hi everybody,

I'm new to salome (i've been using it for less than a month), and I'm interested in hexahedral meshes for CFD simulations.

I'm trying to create a C-grid around a NACA airfoil for a 2D viscous CFD simulation in OpenFOAM. Using Python scripts, I have managed to create a face around the airfoil and to mesh it with a 2D quadrangle algorithm, using propagation of 1D hypotheses from the airfoil contour to the external boundary. Once this grid is properly refined, I will extrude it of one cell.

However, in my mesh the cells are very inclined near the wall. I'd like to ask whether there is a way to impose grid orthogonality to the face edges, as it happens when dealing with C-grid structured meshes.

I'll attach some images to make what i mean more clear.

Thank you in advance,

Luca

Attachments

Posted by Luca Cirrottola at September 26. 2012

The first image refers to the grid i wish to create. The following one is a zoom of my current mesh.

Thanks.

Attachments

Posted by Saint Michael at September 27. 2012

Hi Luca

I propose splitting the face around the airfoil into several logic quadrangles by lines normal to airfoil boundary (see the attached picture). Sptitting can be done using Partition.

St.Michael

Attachments

Posted by Luca Cirrottola at September 27. 2012

Thank you, St.Michael.

I will try your hint. However, in this way, I can only satisfy the orthogonality approximately: the higher the number of partitions, the better approximation I will get. I was wondering if there is any means to put this requirement into the mesh hypotheses, but if there is not, I'll try to make your method suite my needs.

Luca

Posted by Saint Michael at September 27. 2012