Personal tools
You are here: Home Forum Use Quad mesh around 2D aerofoil

Quad mesh around 2D aerofoil

Up to Use

Quad mesh around 2D aerofoil

Posted by Blue Jay at December 29. 2012

Hey guys,

I'm trying to create a 'C' mesh around a simple 2D airfoil. I've imported the aerofoil, built the domain and created various faces which I'm gonna mesh then eventually extrude by one cell for use in OpenFoam.

However, I'm really struggling with the meshing process. The approach I've been trying is 2D quadrangle algorithm, 1D wire discretization algorithm, then n.b. segments hypothesis. However, with this it complains there is more than 4 sides (I believe it is classing the section of the airfoil surface as multiple edges), therefore I tried composite side discretization as the 1D hypothesis, however this isn't working either. 

As you can probably tell I'm pretty new at this, and I'm rather stumped. Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Attachments

Re: Quad mesh around 2D aerofoil

Posted by Max Fischer at December 29. 2012

Hi Blue Jay,

such a topic (CMesh around airfoil) has been discussed in this forum a few month ago. Check the following link:

http://www.salome-platform.org/forum/forum_10/213329959

Hope it helps,

Max

Posted by William Tougeron at December 29. 2012

Hello Blue Jay

You get this error because each face must have only for edges and the ones touching your foil have more than four. You can check it by using the Measures -> What is tool. This is because you generated your upper and lower sides with the polyline tool (I suppose), which create wires (organised set of edges) and not edges. You should rebuild them with the interpolation tool (New Entity -> Basic -> Curve, then third icon at the top right of the dialogue box "Interpolation").

Then, you will have to split your upper and lower edges only to create the edges of your faces touching the foil. You can do it with the partition tool (Operations -> Partition).

Hope this helps :)