Personal tools
You are here: Home Forum Use Hexablock tutorial

Hexablock tutorial

Up to Use

Hexablock tutorial

Posted by Roman Voronov at December 17. 2012

Hi all, especially Salome creators! Do you have any tutorial to use Hexablock module, starting creation of geometry and ending building a mesh? I can'y understand how to use it. Salome's  documentation explains almost nothing.

May be Hexablock is great tool, but how to use it?

Thank you!

Re: Hexablock tutorial

Posted by William Tougeron at December 17. 2012

Hello,

I am not a developer but only a user.

To create blocking, you have to create the blocks in the Geometry module. You will have to familiarize with the New Entity menu.

To do so, you can create 1D elements (edges, splines) that we call edges, with different tools.

From these edges, you can create wires (close or open assembly of edges). From these wires, you can create faces. From these faces, you can create shells (open or closed assembly of faces). From these shells, you can create solids. (You can also create blocks from two faces.)

If these solids have only 6 faces, 16 edges and 8 vertexes, they can be used as a blocks. Check it with the Measures, What is and Measures, Check compound of Block tools.

When your blocks are created, you can put them into a compound object (New Entity, Build, Compound). Then, you can 'fuse' them (delete the redundant faces between each pair of blocks) thanks to the Repair, Glue Faces (or Glue Edges for 2D blocking).

Once done, you have to create groups on your final compound object. You can create groups of edges. On each group will be applied specific meshing parameters (number of nodes, element size, etc.).

You will have also to create groups of faces for each boundary condition you want to export (eg. inlet, outlet, etc.).