Personal tools
You are here: Home Forum Use Re: Help with cylindrical mesh (beginner)

Re: Help with cylindrical mesh (beginner)

Up to Use

Posted by Courtney Gras at December 10. 2012

Hello All:

I am attempting to import a .step file into Salome V6.5.0 so that I can partition this mesh for use with Elmer (following these guidelines).

I have made an attempt at meshing my geometry many times, but always receive a memory error (or the software freezes entirely). I am completely new to this procedure (and FEM in general), so I am wondering if somebody could please take a look at my .step file and recommend an approach.

I have 2 different .step files - both represent stranded cables, although one is twisted and one is straight (I originally assumed the straight cable would work since it is a simpler geometry).

A link to the straight cable is here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/51svhhpl20a4iee/Cable_Total.zip

And a link to the twisted cable is here: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/eylkf71r0ywhybv/fd3UxFaaJY

My eventual goal is to have a single mesh of the cable which can be imported into Elmer for further analysis, but partitioned such that Elmer "sees" the outer 24 wires as a separate "body" (they need to represent steel cables while the inner wires should be copper). 

Any assistance you can provide would be much appreciated. 

Best Regards,

Courtney

Posted by Saint Michael at December 11. 2012

Hello Courtney

I tried to mesh Cable_Total.stp with NETGEN 1D-2D-3D algorithm and got a failure because of an invalid 2D mesh, which appeared too coarse and self-intersecting in the middle of wire. I deduced that to use NETGEN 1D-2D-3D it's necessary to limit max size of element. Note that while computing this mesh, SALOME occupied ~4.5 Gb of RAM.