Personal tools
You are here: Home Forum Use easy 3D drawing

easy 3D drawing

Up to Use
  • easy 3D drawing

Posted by DenisG at November 25. 2005
    Hi all

I'm a teacher and I'm looking for a Linux replacement to Solidworks.
    I'm trying Salome via CAELinux, it looks great, but I'm wondering if I can easily start a drawing in the Solidworks way: Draw one or several simple shapes using mouse only, without caring about dimensions, and then enter dimensions. I don't want to care about coordinates.
    I didn't find a way to do this, is there one?

DenisG
    • Re: easy 3D drawing

Posted by Yves Fricaud at December 09. 2005
      DenisG wrote:
      Hi all

I'm trying Salome via CAELinux, it looks great, but I'm wondering if I can easily start a drawing in the Solidworks way: Draw one or several simple shapes using mouse only, without caring about dimensions, and then enter dimensions. I don't want to care about coordinates.

DenisG

Hi

SALOME doesn't allow to create sketch and shape as you defined. Main reason is that module Geometry of SALOME is not a parametric model.

Regards
      Yves Fricaud

Posted by Leo Walton at August 30. 2009
        Yves Fricaud wrote:
        DenisG wrote:
        Hi all

DenisG

Hi

SALOME doesn't allow to create sketch and shape as you defined. Main reason is that module Geometry of SALOME is not a parametric model.

Regards
        Yves Fricaud

VariCAD for Linux . Not free however, though I think there is a time limited demo version available .
        http://www.varicad.com/en/home/

Posted by Cacciatorino at August 30. 2009
          Have a look at "Graphite-one".

But, why to choose to use a linux platform to learn cad packages? At the moment, there are just a few companies using linux as cad-platform (Pro/Engineer WF3 and Unigraphics NX), you risk to learn something that will be not so usefull for your student.
          More: it seems to me that SWX can be obtained for free for educational purposes.