Personal tools
You are here: Home Forum Extension of the platform User suggestions for improvement

User suggestions for improvement

Up to Extension of the platform

User suggestions for improvement

Posted by claus andersen at September 26. 2009

I though the developers might want some suggestions from some of us users from the internets :)

This is not a 'please make Salomé act like SolidWorks' thread, but rather suggestions for small improvements which are not that hard to implement (might be, I'm not a programmer)

I'll kick it off:

* The ability to rotate and move an object without pressing CTRL while still being able to select; selecting with left mouse button (MB), rotating with the middle MB, etc.. Or just the ability to define it yourself. This is one of my pet peeves.

* Able to release an object from it's parents; at the moment the geo. module may be filled with hundreds of object used to create an object, and the only way to clear it up a bit, is to export the object, delete the 'tool-objects' and import it again. 

*(salome-meca): a simple 'browse' button where you select which version of Code_Aster you want as a solver - right now you have to write the path manually.

* 3 built in vectors: I always start by creating 3 vectors with the origin O, x,y,z respectively.

* Ability to extrude faces et al without having to explode the object.

That all for now, I might update later on.

I hope someone else will kick in ideas and suggestions.

And of course thanks to the developers for listening to us and making Salomé available to us :)

Re: User suggestions for improvement

Posted by Vadim SANDLER at September 28. 2009

Hello Claus,

Thank you for your interest in the evolving of SALOME platform. We are always glad to get fresh ideas about possible improvement of the platform. And one of this forum's goals is to collect such feedbacks from the SALOME users.