Personal tools
You are here: Home Forum Install & build Installation Help

Installation Help

Up to Install & build

Installation Help

Posted by Dupront at November 13. 2006
Hello,

I am new to Linux. I just installed Fedora core 5 on my conputer.
Now I would like to install Salome but even after reading the doc I am not really sure about the appropriate way to proceede.
May be somebody could help me if it is not too much trouble ?
Thank a lot in advance

Michel

Re: Installation Help

Posted by Vadim SANDLER at November 13. 2006
Hello Michel,

To install SALOME just cd to the SALOME Install Wizard root directory and type runInstall. It will launch SALOME Installation Wizard in GUI mode. It will guide you through all installation steps. In general case you well just need to enter target installation directory path. By default it is the user's home directory.

Please, take into account that Linux Fedora Core 5 is not included in the list of platforms for which SALOME platform is tested, so the default installation configuration (config.xml) file will be used by the Installation Wizard. This also means that the precompiled binaries for the default platform will be installed (Mandrake 10.1).
This may cause compatibility problems.
If you have some troubles with the default installation settings you can try to use another XML configuration files (which can be found in the Installation Wizard's root directory). To do this use -f parameter of the runInstall script, for example:
>> runInstall -f config_Mandriva_2006.0.xml

In general case you need to install all products from precompiled binaries (install binares option). This is the quickest way to install SALOME platform. But if this does not work you always may choose install sources option for all the products and in this case all the products will be built from sources on your coumputer. However it will take some time (up to 24 hours).

Regards,
Vadim.

Hello Vadim,

Thank you very much for your answer.